Home > The New Media > Meta-data Monday

Meta-data Monday

I haven’t run a meta-data Monday for some time now in large part because my blog hasn’t hit any notable landmarks.  As a blog lives longer, those landmarks became fewer and farther between, I guess.  The reason I am posting a meta-data Monday post now, is that I have heard several times over the past weeks someone quip that no one really reads academic blogs or, more agnostically, that there is no way to know whether anyone reads academic blogs or the like.  Of course, on some level there is no way to know whether anyone reads anything, but putting aside that relatively extreme position, I thought that making a post that includes some of my blog’s data would at least put my mind to rest.

My blog has been in existence for about 2 1/2 years and over this time, I’ve had about 62,000 page views.  While this pales in comparison to high volume, professional blogs which might see page view numbers like this for a single day, these numbers nevertheless make it hard to deny that someone reads or at least looks at my blog.  The 62,000 + page views are over the blogs 549 posts (I guess I could have waited a day and posted this in celebration of my blog’s 550th post!).  Lamentably, there are only 265 comments on these 549th posts. 

Using Google Analytics, I can show that I have had visitors from 141 countries.  My blog has received the most hits from:
WorldMap

1. United States
2. Greece
3. U.K.
4. Canada
5. Italy
6. Australia
7. France
8. Germany
9. Cyprus
10. Turkey

I’ve had visits from every U.S. state with the most popular states being:
USMap

1. California
2. North Dakota
3. Pennsylvania
4. Minnesota
5. New York
6. Ohio
7. Illinois
8. Florida
9. Texas
10. New Jersey

Google Analytics allows us to mine all sorts of interesting data.  For example, the ever popular browser profile of my readers:

1. Firefox (45%)
2. I.E. (39.57% with 27.73% on I.E. 6.x for those of you who get upset about that kind of thing!)
3. Safari (8.13%)
4. Opera (2.93%)
5. Chrome (2.47%)
6. Camino (<1)
7. Monzilla (<1)
8. Netscape (<1)
9. Konqueror (<1)
10. NetFront (<1)

Windows users account for 80% of my traffic with Macintosh representing 18% and Linux 1%.

The top referring domains (i.e. how do folks find my site):

1. Google
2. Typepad.com
3. und.edu
4. pkap.org
5. yahoo.com
6. Kourelis.blogspot.com (Objects, Buildings, Situations)
7. archaeology.org  (the web-domain of the Archaeological Institute of America)
8. Iconoclasm.dk (Troels Myrup’s excellent blog)
9. grandforkslife.blogspot.com (the Grand Forks Guy’s local blog)
10. twitter.com (largely via my Twitter feed, which you should follow, by the way!)

To round out this list, here are the top referring blogs:

4. Thoughts from West Melrose
5. Rogue Classicism
6. Electric Archaeologist
7. Ancient World Bloggers Group
8. Historical Archaeology in the Ancient Mediterranean
9. Research News in Late Antiquity
10.  Antiquated Vagaries

The top ten posts based on page views:

1. Early Christian Architecture and Hybrid Space
2. Real Snow in Athens
3. A Walk through Byzantine Athens
4. The Byzantine and Christian Museum
5. Blogging Archaeology or the Archaeology of Blogging: Metablogging the Ancient World
6. The Early Christian Ecclesiastical Architecture of Cyprus: First Impressions
7. Punk Archaeology: Some Preliminary Thoughts
8. Suburban Archaeology A (Detroit) Jewel in the Attic
9. Survey Archaeology, Pottery, and the Chronotype System
10. Emerging Cypriot: An Archaeological Documentary

And just for fun, here’s my Wordle Cluster:

WordleSept2009

So, thanks to all my readers and referrers!

Categories: The New Media
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

