Home > Teaching > Teaching Tuesday: History 101 Podcasts and Indices

Teaching Tuesday: History 101 Podcasts and Indices

I have this advertising campaign idea to attract attention to the University of North Dakota's online offering.  It would be called:

UND for Free!

So far, it hasn't gotten much traction here (except, of course, in my own head).  But, on this blog, an idea only has to have traction in my own head for it to become a reality.

So without further ado, here is the basic content of my 101 class for free.  As I get more time, I'll hopefully return to this and add links to readings and the like, but for now, you should feel free to check out, mash-up, openly mock, or (for former students) re-experience the energy, excitement, and brilliance that is one of my 101 lectures.  The point of my lectures are to produce basic "textbook" style information (that is my synthesis and analysis).  And for a limited time only, it is complementary.  (I've been told that saying "For a limited time only" makes any product more appealing!)

The first link is to a podcast lecture.  They run around a hour to an hour-and-a-half each.  The link labeled "Index" is an index to the podcast with links to various pages on the web that either clarifies and expands issues that the podcast did not treat extensively.  I discuss some of the issues surrounding the building of this class in posts here (for my initial goals in creating the podcasts) and here (for my creating of indices) and here (for my discussion of the class after the first week).  I omitted the Week 1 lecture because it mainly deals with the mechanics of the class.

Week 2: Early Civilization | Index

Week 3: Early Greece, Athens, and the Peloponnesian War | Index

Week 4: The Hellenistic World | Index

Week 5: The Roman Republic | Index

Week 6: Augustus and the Roman Empire | Index

Week 7: Christians and Romans Part 1, Christians and Romans Part 2 | Index

Week 8: The Merovingian and Carolingian Era | Index

Week 9: Feudalism and Manorialism | Index

Week 10: The Investiture Controversy | Index

Week 11: The Crusades | Index

Week 12: The World of the Town | Index

Week 13: The Imperial Papacy | Index

Week 14: The Black Death | Index

Week 15: The Hundred Years War | Index

As for Teaching Tuesday, I wanted to make sure that I wasn't competing with the wildly successful Teaching Thursday weblog.  So, I'll post my thoughts on teaching on Teaching Tuesday and let my colleagues continue to enlighten and amaze on Thursdays over at Teaching Thursday.

Categories: Teaching
  1. September 9, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Hey,
    Just a heads up– your week 3 podcast returns a Page Not Found error. The rest of them worked just fine for me though. Thought you’d like to know!

  2. September 9, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Amalia,
    Thanks for the heads-up. It should work now.
    Let me know what you think of them!
    Bill

  3. September 11, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Bill,
    The first one was fairly excellent– it answered all my questions about two seconds after I thought of them, but mostly I was just excited that I remembered 99% of what you covered in it. I always feel a little bit short-shrifted in regard to Ancient Egypt though.
    I know it isn’t your area of expertise, but I was looking at some information on the Nordic Bronze Age, and I was kind of floored. I wasn’t sure what to make of the fact that the region was apparently involved in trade with central Europe that far back. I also read that the climate in the north was so mild they were growing grapes for wine, similar to Spain or France, presently. Did whatever climate shift that hit there (~800 BCE) have an impact on the rest of Europe? (Should I not be asking historical questions when I’m not actually one of your students anymore? Or is occasional discourse permitted under your “UND For Free” limited time only bargain podcast extravaganza?)
    Amalia

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

